PALM BEACH COUNTY, Fla. — A weekend crash on Interstate 95, in which investigators say two children were not secured in safety seats, is renewing calls for more parents to follow Florida law.
“It’s a behavior, everyone on every ride,” says Kelly Powell of Safe Kids Palm Beach County.
Florida law requires any child 5 years old or younger to be in a child safety seat and a booster seat for children under 80 pounds.
"A child rear facing is 70 percent safer in a crash and a child forward facing is 54 percent safer, we know statistically car seats save lives,” Powell says
Safe Kids Palm Beach County offers help to parents on installing the seats and can offer discounts on buying them.
A phone app, called Safe Map, also offers help on child safety seats in Palm Beach County.
Visit the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website to learn more including how to finding the right car seat and installing it correctly.