Florida passed a measure making daylight saving time permanent; so why are we turning our clocks back?

Posted at 9:04 AM, Oct 31, 2019

Remember back in 2018 when Florida lawmakers approved a bill that would keep Florida on daylight saving time permanently?

This weekend we'll still be setting our clocks back an hour along with most of the rest of the country, so what gives?

RELATED: Florida lawmakers want 2019 to be the last time anyone has to 'Spring Forward'

The problem is that even though the Florida legislature voted to stay on daylight saving time, it can't be enacted without congressional approval of the Sunshine Protection Act.

Seven states have passed bills to eliminate the time change. Arizona and Hawaii are the only ones who do not observe daylight saving time permanently. Although, not every corner of Arizona is exempt from Daylight Saving Time. The Navajo Indian Reservation follows DST, but the reservation stretches across four different states. Some U.S. territories also do not observe DST.

“We need to end this antiquated practice,” FL Congressman Vern Buchanan said. “There are enormous health and economic benefits to making daylight saving time permanent.”

5 things to know about the end of daylight saving time 2019

President Trump has indicated that he would sign the bill in the past.

“Last year, Florida lawmakers voted to make daylight saving time permanent in my home state,” Buchanan said. “Congress should pass my bill to move Florida and the rest of the country to year-round daylight saving time.”

Senator Marco Rubio has a companion bill currently in a Senate committee.

At the end of the day, Florida legislators are ready to stay on daylight saving time year round, as is the president. But we will continue to change the clocks twice a year until Congress approves the change.

Story updated to clarify that Hawaii and most of Arizona do not observe DST.