NewsRegion S Palm Beach CountyBoynton Beach


Boynton Beach Police Department honors dedicated officers, dispatchers

Posted at 3:30 PM, Apr 16, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-16 19:35:21-04

BOYNTON BEACH, Fla. — The Boynton Beach Police Department honored members of its department during an awards ceremony Tuesday afternoon.

Officers, detectives, dispatchers, and other staff members were recognized for the work they’ve done during the first quarter of the year.

On Feb. 27, Officer Greg Wertman was hit by a car while chasing a shoplifting suspect near Gateway Blvd. and Congress Ave.

Boynton Beach police said Officer Rachel Baldino was instrumental in the arrest of the suspect, 24-year-old Ryan Moody.

Police said Officer Baldino’s use of intel helped track down Moody by talking to witnesses who told the officer that Moody had changed his clothes.

A second suspect, 23-year-old Elyshia Wilson, turned herself in after police posted her picture on social media.

Because of her actions, Officer Baldino was awarded the Police Duty Medal on Tuesday afternoon.

The dispatchers working on Feb. 27 were also recognized Tuesday with the Meritorious Unit Award.

Police said Janel McNevin, Terri Bennett, Steven Ferrell, Gabby Trotto, and Brittany Drury helped keep the situation under control and contacted different units to respond to the scene.

The department released this statement about the response on Feb. 27:

"Every time a request was made on the radio, someone said, I got it. I’ll call. They work mini miracles every day, but on this day, they were truly amazing, and there is no question that their efforts were instrumental that day."

Officer Wertman was released from the hospital on March 14.

Other awards given out Tuesday included:

  • Citizen Commendation: Kassidy Sottilare
  • Professional Staff Member Appreciation: Brittany Drury
  • Meritorious Unit: Dawn Jackson, Randy Northrop and Officer Vinny Mastro
  • Meritorious Unit: Andy Richardson, Jessica Hackl, Mary Jean Hockicko, James Longhini, Joy Richards, Ricky Suyono, Jaimie Viverito, Cranesha Watson, Brian McNevin
  • Meritorious Unit and Police Duty: Detectives Jeff Gleicher, Juan Montoya, Marco Villari, Evelyn Gorfido
  • Lifesaving: Sgt. Chris Munro, Officer Vladimir Alexis, Officer Holly Picciano, Officer Mark Sohn, Officer Vladimir Adea, Officer Rachel Moccia, Officer Carlos Borrero
  • Exceptional Police Duty: Crime Scene Investigators Rob Eichorst, Tom McKinlay, Tina Stidham
  • Exceptional Police Duty: Agent Craig Hanning
  • Exceptional Police Duty: Officer Denise Schrecengost

WPTV's Miranda Christian will be at Tuesday's awards ceremony, and will provide updates online and on air.

Tokyo Olympics Medal Count as of late afternoon Aug. 4, 2021