NewsTreasure CoastRegion Indian River County


Vero Beach voters choose 3 council members in special election

Posted at 7:50 PM, Feb 26, 2019
and last updated 2019-02-27 04:05:45-05

VERO BEACH, Fla. — Current Vero Beach council members Tony Young and Laura Moss were re-elected in a special election Tuesday.

Robert Brackett, a Vero Beach native who operates a real estate business, was also elected.

A special election was called after the names of two candidates –- Linda Hillman and Brian Heady -- were left off the ballot after they were accused of filing incomplete paperwork.

The city settled a lawsuit by ordering the special election with the two candidates on the new ballot.