Indian River, St. Lucie counties to receive federal aid after Hurricane Matthew

Posted at 2:21 PM, Oct 09, 2016
and last updated 2016-10-10 06:52:49-04

WASHINGTON (AP) -- Indian River and St. Lucie are among eight Florida counties that will receive federal assistance after Hurricane Matthew.

President Barack Obama has signed disaster declarations for the states of Georgia and Florida, a move that comes with federal aid to help those states cope with the effects of the storm.

The hurricane blew through those states as well as North and Carolina last week before being downgraded to tropical storm on Sunday.


In Florida, the counties are Brevard, Duval, Flagler, Indian River, Nassau, St. Johns, St. Lucie and Volusia.

A White House statement says federal funding will be available to help state and local efforts. Individual assistance is still under review.

Georgia counties targeted for the aid are Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says damage surveys are continuing and more counties could be added to the list of those qualifying for additional aid.