Nobel Prize in Physics celebrates 'groundbreaking' laser breakthroughs

Posted at 6:13 AM, Oct 02, 2018

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Arthur Ashkin, and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland "for their groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics."

Nobel Laureate Arthur Ashkin has been awarded the Nobel Prize for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems, while Laureates Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland have been awarded the prize for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses.

Ashkin is American, Mourou is French and Strickland is Canadian.