SportsCollege Sports


Gators quarterback Kyle Trask among 4 Heisman finalists

Alabama teammates, Clemson's Trevor Lawrence other finalists
Florida Gators QB Kyle Trask vs. Georgia Bulldogs in 2020
Posted at 8:35 PM, Dec 24, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-24 21:04:59-05

Florida quarterback Kyle Trask has been named a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, along with Alabama quarterback Mac Jones and wide receiver DeVonta Smith, and Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence.

The Heisman will be awarded Jan. 5 during a virtual ceremony as the pandemic forced the cancellation of the usual trip to New York that for the presentation that usually comes with being a finalist.

Trask leads the country with 43 touchdown passes and 4,125 yards. The senior is trying to join Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel and Tim Tebow as Heisman-winning quarterback from Florida.

Trask played behind Feleipe Franks in Gainesville but the starter sustained a season-ending ankle injury in September 2019.

Alabama defeated Florida 52-46 in the SEC Championship on Saturday in Atlanta.

Florida Gators QB Kyle Trask leaps into end zone vs. Alabama Crimson Tide in 2020 SEC Championship
Florida quarterback Kyle Trask leaps into the end zone for a touchdown against Alabama during the first half of the Southeastern Conference Championship game, Saturday, Dec. 19, 2020, in Atlanta.

No. 7 Florida (8-3) will play No. 6 Oklahoma (8-2), the Big 12 champion, in the Cotton Bowl at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, on Dec. 30.

The top-ranked Crimson Tide (11-0) will face No. 4 Notre Dame (10-1) in the College Football Playoff semifinals on Jan. 1, also at AT&T Stadium in Arlington. The Rose Bowl game was moved from Pasadena, Calif., because of coronavirus restrictions.

No. 2 Clemson (10-1) will face No. 3 Ohio State (6-0) in the Sugar Bowl semifinals in New Orleans on Jan. 1. Lawrence would be the Tigers’ first Heisman winner.

Jones and Smith are the eighth set of teammates to be finalists together since the tradition started in 1982. Smith is trying to become the first wide receiver to win the Heisman since 1991 when Desmond Howard took the award for Michigan.

The rest of the top 10 was revealed in order, starting with Alabama running back Najee Harris. The Crimson Tide is the second team to have three players in the top five in Heisman voting.

In 1946, Army running back Glenn Davis won the Heisman, fellow running back Doc Blanchard finished fourth and quarterback Arnold Tucker was fifth.

Iowa State running back Breece Hall was sixth this year, followed by Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields, BYU quarterback Zach Wilson, Notre Dame quarterback Ian Book and Florida tight end Kyle Pitts.

Pitts is the first tight end to finish in the top 10 of the Heisman voting since Notre Dame's Ken MacAfee was third in 1977.