A sweep for ‘Schitt’s Creek,’ ‘Succession’ tops Emmy Awards

Posted at 5:19 AM, Sep 21, 2020
and last updated 2020-09-21 05:19:39-04

“Schitt’s Creek” has capped a huge night at the Emmy Awards — completing a historic sweep of the show's comedy categories. The show won best comedy series and acting trophies for stars Catherine O'Hara, Eugene Levy, Daniel Levy and Annie Murphy.

It's a feat that couldn't quite be matched by drama series winner “Succession,” which won four trophies.

Zendaya made history as the youngest drama series actress winner. Sunday's prime-time show includes ambitious live video feeds from 130 socially distanced nominees.

Although the rise of streaming services including Disney+ and Apple TV+ dominated the TV landscape, it was Emmy stalwart HBO that stole the show.

Here’s the full winners list:

Drama Series
“Better Call Saul” (AMC)
“The Crown” (Netflix)
“The Handmaid’s Tale” (Hulu)
“Killing Eve” (BBC America/AMC)
“The Mandalorian” (Disney Plus)
“Ozark” (Netflix)
“Stranger Things” (Netflix)
“Succession” (HBO) (WINNER)

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Laura Dern (“Big Little Lies”)
Meryl Streep (“Big Little Lies”)
Helena Bonham Carter (“The Crown”)
Samira Wiley (“The Handmaid’s Tale”)
Fiona Shaw (“Killing Eve”)
Julia Garner (“Ozark”) (WINNER)
Sarah Snook (“Succession”)
Thandie Newton (“Westworld”)

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Giancarlo Esposito (“Better Call Saul”)
Bradley Whitford (“The Handmaid’s Tale”)
Billy Crudup (“The Morning Show”) (WINNER)
Mark Duplass (“The Morning Show”)
Nicholas Braun (“Succession”)
Kieran Culkin (“Succession”)
Matthew Macfadyen (“Succession”)
Jeffrey Wright (“Westworld”)

Directing for a Drama Series
“The Crown,” “Aberfan” (Netflix)Benjamin Caron
“The Crown,” “Cri de Coeur” (Netflix)Jessica Hobbs
“Homeland,” “Prisoners of War” (Showtime)Lesli Linka Glatter
“The Morning Show,” “The Interview” (Apple TV Plus)Mimi Leder
“Ozark,” “Fire Pink” (Netflix)Alik Sakharov
“Ozark,” “Su Casa Es Mi Casa” (Netflix)Ben Semanoff
Andrij Parekh "Succession," "Hunting" (HBO) (WINNER)
“Succession,” “This Is Not for Tears” (HBO)Mark Mylod

Writing for a Drama Series
“Better Call Saul,” “Bad Choice Road” (AMC)Thomas Schnauz
“Better Call Saul,” “Bagman” (AMC)Gordon Smith
“The Crown,” “Aberfan” (Netflix)Peter Morgan
“Ozark,” “All In” (Netflix)Chris Mundy
“Ozark,” “Boss Fight” (Netflix)John Shiban
“Ozark,” “Fire Pink” (Netflix)Miki Johnson
Jesse Armstrong "Succession," "This Is Not for Tears" (HBO) (WINNER)

Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Jennifer Aniston (“The Morning Show”)
Olivia Colman (“The Crown”)
Jodie Comer (“Killing Eve”)
Laura Linney (“Ozark”)
Sandra Oh (“Killing Eve”)
Zendaya (“Euphoria”) (WINNER)

Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Jason Bateman (“Ozark”)
Sterling K. Brown (“This Is Us”)
Steve Carell (“The Morning Show”)
Brian Cox (“Succession”)
Billy Porter (“Pose”)
Jeremy Strong (“Succession”) (WINNER)

Competition Program
“The Masked Singer” (Fox)
“Nailed It!” (Netflix)
"RuPaul’s Drag Race" (VH1) (WINNER)
“Top Chef” (Bravo)
“The Voice” (NBC)

Limited Series
“Little Fires Everywhere” (Hulu)
“Mrs. America” (Hulu)
“Unbelievable” (Netflix)
“Unorthodox” (Netflix)
“Watchmen” (HBO) (WINNER)

Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie
Holland Taylor (“Hollywood”)
Uzo Aduba (“Mrs. America”) (WINNER)
Margo Martindale (“Mrs. America”)
Tracey Ullman (“Mrs. America”)
Toni Collette (“Unbelievable”)
Jean Smart (“Watchmen”)

Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or Movie
Dylan McDermott (“Hollywood”)
Jim Parsons (“Hollywood”)
Tituss Burgess (“Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. the Reverend”)
Yahya Abdul-Mateen II (“Watchmen”) (WINNER)
Jovan Adepo (“Watchmen”)Louis Gossett Jr. (“Watchmen”)

Directing for a Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special
“Little Fires Everywhere,” “Find a Way” (Hulu)Lynn Shelton
“Normal People,” “Episode 5” (Hulu)Lenny Abrahamson
Maria Schrader "Unorthodox" (Netflix) (WINNER)
“Watchmen,” “It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice” (HBO)Nicole Kassell
“Watchmen,” “Little Fear of Lightning” (HBO)Steph Green
“Watchmen,” “This Extraordinary Being” (HBO)Stephen Williams

Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special
“Mrs. America,” “Shirley” (FX Networks)Tanya Barfield
“Normal People,” “Episode 3” (Hulu)Sally Rooney and Alice Birch
“Unbelievable,” “Episode 1” (Netflix)Susannah Grant, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman
“Unorthodox,” “Part 1” (Netflix)Anna Winger
Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson "Watchmen," "This Extraordinary Being" (HBO) (WINNER)

Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie
Jeremy Irons (“Watchmen”)
Hugh Jackman (“Bad Education”)
Paul Mescal (“Normal People”)
Jeremy Pope (“Hollywood”)
Mark Ruffalo (“I Know This Much Is True”) (WINNER)

Lead Actress in a Limited Series or Movie
Cate Blanchett (“Mrs. America”)
Shira Haas (“Unorthodox”)
Regina King (“Watchmen”) (WINNER)
Octavia Spencer (“Self Made”)
Kerry Washington (“Little Fires Everywhere”)

Variety Talk Series
“Daily Show With Trevor Noah” (Comedy Central)
“Full Frontal With Samantha Bee” (TBS)
“Jimmy Kimmel Live” (ABC)
“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO) (WINNER)
“Late Show With Stephen Colbert” (CBS)

Comedy Series
“Curb Your Enthusiasm” (HBO)
“Dead to Me” (Netflix)
“The Good Place” (NBC)
“Insecure” (HBO)
“The Kominsky Method” (Netflix)
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
“Schitt’s Creek” (Pop TV) (WINNER)
“What We Do in the Shadows” (FX)

Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series
Betty Gilpin (“GLOW”)
D’Arcy Carden (“The Good Place”)
Yvonne Orji (“Insecure”)
Alex Borstein (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Marin Hinkle (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Kate McKinnon (“Saturday Night Live”)
Cecily Strong (“Saturday Night Live”)
Annie Murphy (“Schitt’s Creek”) (WINNER)

Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series
Andre Braugher (“Brooklyn Nine-Nine”)
William Jackson Harper (“The Good Place”)
Alan Arkin (“The Kominsky Method”)
Sterling K. Brown (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Tony Shalhoub (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Mahershala Ali (“Ramy”)
Kenan Thompson (“Saturday Night Live”)
Dan Levy (“Schitt’s Creek”) (WINNER)

Directing for a Comedy Series
“The Great,” “The Great” [Pilot] (Hulu)Matt Shakman
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “It’s Comedy or Cabbage” (Prime Video)Amy Sherman-Palladino
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “Marvelous Radio” (Prime Video)Daniel Palladino
“Modern Family,” “Finale Part 2” (ABC)Gail Mancuso
“Ramy,” “Miakhalifa.mov” (Hulu)Ramy Youssef
Andrew Cividino and Daniel Levy "Schitt’s Creek," "Happy Ending" (Pop TV) (WINNER)
“Will & Grace,” “We Love Lucy” (NBC)James Burrows

Writing for a Comedy Series
“The Good Place,” “Whenever You’re Ready” (NBC)Michael Schur
“The Great,” “The Great” (Hulu)Tony McNamara
Daniel Levy "Schitt’s Creek," "Happy Ending" (Pop TV) (WINNER)
“Schitt’s Creek,” “The Presidential Suite” (Pop TV)David West Read
“What We Do in the Shadows,” “Collaboration” (FX Networks)Sam Johnson and Chris Marcil
“What We Do in the Shadows,” “Ghosts” (FX Networks)Paul Simms
“What We Do in the Shadows,” “On the Run” (FX Networks)Stefani Robinson

Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Anthony Anderson (“Black-ish”)
Don Cheadle (“Black Monday”)
Ted Danson (“The Good Place”)
Michael Douglas (“The Kominsky Method”)
Eugene Levy (“Schitt’s Creek”) (WINNER)
Ramy Youssef (“Ramy”)

Lead Actress in a Comedy Series
Christina Applegate (“Dead to Me”)
Rachel Brosnahan (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Linda Cardellini (“Dead to Me”)
Catherine O’Hara (“Schitt’s Creek”) (WINNER)
Issa Rae (“Insecure”)
Tracee Ellis Ross (“Black-ish”)