Anquan Boldin, Devin Hester, Fred Taylor, Vince Wilfork among semifinalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame

4 of 28 modern-era semifinalists once starred on high school gridiron in Palm Beach County
Anquan Boldin, Devin Hester, Fred Taylor, Vince Wilfork, Pro Football Hall of Fame semifinalists for class of 2023
Posted at 9:22 PM, Nov 22, 2022
and last updated 2022-11-22 21:22:48-05

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. — Former NFL receiver Anquan Boldin and ex-running back Fred Taylor are among the modern-era semifinalists for next year's Pro Football Hall of Fame class.

Boldin and Taylor join receiver Devin Hester and defensive tackle Vince Wilfork as Palm Beach County natives being considered to join the class of 2023.

All four were semifinalists in 2022.

Boldin was a star receiver who spent 14 seasons in the NFL.

A quarterback at Pahokee High School, Boldin moved to wide receiver at Florida State and became a second-round draft pick of the Arizona Cardinals in 2003. The three-time Pro Bowl player was named the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year in 2015 and helped the Baltimore Ravens win a Super Bowl to cap the 2012 season.

Arizona Cardinals receiver Anquan Boldin scores TD vs Minnesota Vikings in 2009
Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Anquan Boldin sprints for a touchdown as Minnesota Vikings safety Tyrell Johnson falls down during the first half Sunday, Dec. 6, 2009, in Glendale, Ariz.

Hester, who was born and raised in Riviera Beach, spent 11 seasons in the NFL.

A standout all-purpose player at Suncoast Community High School, Hester starred at the University of Miami before becoming a second-round draft pick of the Chicago Bears in 2006. The four-time Pro Bowl player holds the NFL record for most all-time combined punt and kickoff return for touchdowns.

Chicago Bears kick returner Devin Hester in 2013
Chicago Bears kick returner Devin Hester looks for running room during a game against the Minnesota Vikings, Sunday, Dec. 1, 2013, in Minneapolis.

Born and raised in Pahokee, Taylor starred at Glades Central Community High School and then at the University of Florida.

Drafted by the Jaguars with the ninth overall pick in 1998, Taylor holds 42 franchise records, including career rushing yards (11,271) and total touchdowns in a season (18 in 1998). He spent 11 of his 13 NFL seasons in Jacksonville before retiring.

Taylor is a four-time semifinalist vying to become just the second player to be inducted into the Hall of Fame as a member of the Jaguars. Tony Boselli, who was inducted earlier this year, is the first and only Jacksonville player in the Hall.

Jacksonville Jaguars running back Fred Taylor in 2008
Jacksonville Jaguars running back Fred Taylor carries the ball in the first quarter against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Oct. 28, 2007, in Tampa, Fla.

Wilfork, who was born in Boynton Beach and attended Santaluces Community High School, was a defensive tackle who spent 13 seasons in the NFL.

The two-time Super Bowl champion played college football at Miami and was selected in the first round of the 2004 draft by the New England Patriots, where he made five Pro Bowl appearances and spent 11 of his 13 NFL seasons.

Vince Wilfork holds New England Patriots jersey with Robert Kraft as he announces retirement
New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft and former New England Patriots defensive tackle Vince Wilfork display a jersey during a news conference at Gillette Stadium, Wednesday, Aug. 9, 2017, in Foxborough, Mass., where Wilfork announced his retirement from the NFL.

The 28 modern-era semifinalists for the class of 2023 will be reduced to 15 finalists in January.

Modern-era semifinalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2023

  • Eric Allen, cornerback
  • Jared Allen, defensive end
  • Willie Anderson, offensive tackle
  • Ronde Barber, cornerback
  • Anquan Boldin, wide receiver
  • Henry Ellard, wide receiver
  • Jahri Evans, offensive guard
  • London Fletcher, linebacker
  • Dwight Freeney, defensive end
  • James Harrison, linebacker
  • Rodney Harrison, safety
  • Devin Hester, kick returner/wide receiver
  • Torry Holt, wide receiver
  • Andre Johnson, wide receiver
  • Albert Lewis, cornerback
  • Robert Mathis, defensive end/linebacker
  • Darrelle Revis, cornerback
  • Steve Smith Sr., wide receiver
  • Fred Taylor, running back
  • Joe Thomas, offensive tackle
  • Zach Thomas, linebacker
  • Hines Ward, wide receiver
  • DeMarcus Ware, linebacker/defensive end
  • Ricky Watters, running back
  • Reggie Wayne, wide receiver
  • Vince Wilfork, defensive tackle
  • Patrick Willis, linebacker
  • Darren Woodson, safety