States vary on weapon removal in domestic violence situations

Weapon removal laws vary by state

According to the Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence, the following 13 states require, rather than simply authorize, law enforcement to remove at least some firearms at the scene of a domestic violence incident:

  • California
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • West Virginia

The following five states authorize, but do not require, law enforcement to remove firearms at the scene of a domestic violence incident, according to the Law Center:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Connecticut
  • Indiana
  • Maryland

Federal law prohibits those who have been convicted of domestic violence misdemeanors and those subject to certain domestic violence restraining orders from possessing guns.

Print this article Back to Top