(EndPlay Staff Reports) - You might have gone through the motions of deleting embarrassing Facebook photos months ago, but chances are they are still lingering out there. According to a report from CNET , there is a glitch that allows user-deleted photos to stay on servers, these photos can then be accessed by people with a direct link to the photos.
Ars Technica first reported the glitch in 2009, and Facebook is yet to resolve it. Apparently, the glitch allows viewers to remove photos from their profiles and photo albums, but the photos remain on the website's servers for a variable period of time – perhaps years. Users with a direct link to the photo will be able to see it, even it's gone from public viewing.
Facebook is aware of the problem and working to fix it. According to a report from the Daily Mail , an upcoming update will correct the error. However, even with the coming changes photos will still be accessible for 45 days after a user deletes the images.
Mashable pointed out that Facebook acknowledges the possibility of lingering photos in its Statement of Rights and Responsibilities: "When you delete IP content, it is deleted in a manner similar to emptying the recycle bin on a computer. However, you understand that removed content may persist in backup copies for a reasonable period of time (but will not be available to others)."
If you really don't want your boss to see embarrassing pictures from this weekend's Super Bowl party, it's probably not a good idea to upload them in the first place. Who knows how long they'll stick around.