Facebook malware: Fake Facebook photo notifications contain dangerous malware

The threat of malware is at an all-time high after the discovery of a new way to infect computers using everyone's favorite thing: Facebook.

According to Mashable , fake emails claiming you have been tagged in a Facebook photo have been found to contain malware.

When the e-mail is opened, your computer could be infected.

A quick way to check to see if the email is a fake is by looking at the sender address.

A normal notification email from Facebook is from the sender "notification@facebook.com." 

According to Mashable , The malware infected e-mail misspells "Facebook" as "Faceb oook."

Mashable reports the email then takes the user to a malicious iFrame script, which exposes your computer to malware.

In a sneaky move, Mashable says the script directs your browser to an innocent Facebook page within four seconds of being exposed to the malware, so that you don't know you're being infected.

Read the full report from Mashable here : http://on.mash.to/NFeMYF

Print this article Back to Top

Comments