ST. LUCIE COUNTY, Fla. - A 4-day-old girl is in state custody after she was dropped off Tuesday night at a St. Lucie County fire station.
"There was so much emotion. You feel like you're holding this fragile package right there," said Ryan Sapp, a firefighter and paramedic with St. Lucie Fire Rescue.
Sapp said he and his co-workers were wrapping up their shift around 9 p.m. Tuesday night when they heard a knock at a side door.
A man came in holding a baby and explained that the mother of the child could not properly care for her.
"It was almost like a bittersweet thing. You look at it and you feel saddened. But at the same time, you're happy the outcome because this child is being taken care of," said Sapp.
Sapp said it was a very emotional scene.
"She had a little onesie on, a little beanie top. Little footies and wrapped up in a blanket," said Sapp. "She looked very comfortable and relaxed."
Under Florida's Safe Haven law, a newborn up to 7-days-old may be left with a hospital employee, at an emergency medical facility, or at a fire station with no questions asked.
Since 2000, Safe Havens have taken in 203 newborns throughout the state. In the last 13 years, Indian River County and St. Lucie County have both taken in two infants.
"Our policy is a don't ask. We don't ask. We just accept and go from there," said Sapp.
In Martin County, during that same time period, Safe Havens have taken in just one newborn.
"I know I am, we're very proud. That has got to be a very difficult decision for a mother to make," said Sapp. "To have a great ending like that, that's why we strive to do and that's the way it turned out."
Baby Lisa is expected to be put up for adoption. Under Florida law, her parents have 30 days to reclaim her.