WPTV honored with two 2014 Regional Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association has awarded WPTV two 2014 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards.

WPTV received recognition for overall excellence in the Large Market Television category.

The second award , in the News Series category, singled out WPTV's Dan Krauth and Jim Sitton's investigation of 911 operators and deficiencies with the system.

According to the RTDNA, The awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

The group awarded a total of 661 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories.

"The Murrow Awards honor journalism at its finest," RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender said on the organization's website. "Local newsrooms serve their communities 365 days a year, and we're proud to recognize the great work they do."

WPTV was judged against other electronic journalists in Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

National Edward R. Murrow Award winners will be announced in May.

Print this article Back to Top