2016 Republican National Convention: 6 cities now considered

3 Florida cities contend for DNC

The cities hoping to host the 2016 Republican National Convention now know who is moving on to round two in the competition.

The Republican National Committee narrowed the list to six cities they'll visit later this spring before naming a winner.

The remaining cities are Cincinnati, Cleveland, Dallas, Denver, Kansas City and Las Vegas.

"The level of interest, the preparedness of these cities has been extraordinarily impressive," Republican National Committee Chairman Reince Priebus said when making the announcement.

Columbus and Phoenix were cut.

The selection committee plans to announce a winner in late summer or fall.

In February, Tampa Mayor Bob Buckhorn received a letter from the Democratic National Committee Chair, asking if Tampa was interested in hosting Democrats for its 2016 convention.  Orlando and Miami were also contacted.

In 2012, Tampa hosted the Republican National Convention.