PORT ST. LUCIE, FL -- Starting today, Florida joins 26 other states in which not wearing a seat belt is a "primary offense" -- allowing police to pull you over and write you a ticket for not buckling up.
Previously, Florida considered driving without a seat belt a "secondary offense" -- meaning an officer couldn't cite you for a violation unless he also found you violating another law, such as speeding.
AAA says 60% of Floridians -- three times the national average -- don't wear their seat belts. Spokesperson Brenda Smith says once Floridians recognize they'll have to pay, she expects more people will comply with the law.
The ticket for not wearing a seat belt runs $30, but police say when you take into account court fees, the average ticket will likely cost you more than $100.
Copyright 2009 The E.W. Scripps Co. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.